Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

NHL Announces Bill Masterton Trophy Finalists

The National Hockey League announced today the three finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy finalists on Thursday, May 2nd. The trophy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Carolina Hurricanes goaltender Frederik Andersen, Arizona Coyotes goaltender Connor Ingram, and Calgary Flames defenseman Oliver Kylington […]

Read More
Tampa Bay Lightning forward Nicholas Paul (20) celebrates his goal against the Toronto Maple Leafs with forward Michael Eyssimont (23) and forward Ross Colton (79) during the third period of Game 5 Thursday night in Toronto.

Eyssimont’s Perseverance Rewarded With Masterton Trophy Nomination

Last season, Michael (Mikey) Eyssimont bounced from one National Hockey League (NHL) team to another, trying to find a place he could call home. A one game stint with the Winnipeg Jets two years ago opened the door for him to see more action and playing time in 2022-23. He played 19 games, tallying five […]

Read More
Rangers and Quick agree to an exrtension

Opinion: Presenting The NHL Awards – New York Rangers Version

Once the Stanley Cup Final is over, hockey fans shift their attention to the annual NHL Awards, which will take place on June 26. I will present the NHL Awards version for the New York Rangers for this article. Below, you will find my choices for several major NHL Awards including the Vezina Trophy (given […]

Read More

Rangers’ Quick Named a Nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Coming into this season, New York Ranger fans were not sure what to think when it came to the signing of goaltender Jonathan Quick. Last season, Quick, 38, struggled mightily. With the Los Angeles Kings, Quick was 11-13-0-4 with a 3.50 goals-against average, a .876 save percentage, with one shutout, and after being traded to […]

Read More
Zach Werenski going up the ice

Zach Werenski Nominated For Masterton Memorial Trophy

Columbus Blue Jackets’ alternate captain Zach Werenski was nominated by the Columbus chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Associate on Friday afternoon. The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is given to the player who has best demonstrated perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner will be decided at the end of the regular season and […]

Read More

Connor Ingram Named Masterton Trophy Nominee

Each year, the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) names nominees from each of the 32 teams for the Bill Masterton trophy, awarded to the player in the league that best exemplifies sportsmanship, perseverance and dedication to the sport of hockey. This season’s nominee from the Arizona Coyotes is goaltender Connor Ingram, his first nomination in […]

Read More

Montreal Canadiens’ Joel Armia Nominated For Bill Masterton Trophy

The NHL announced their list this morning for each team’s nomination for the Bill Masterton Trophy, and for the Montreal Canadiens, their nominee will be Joel Armia. The 30-year-old winger has certainly had an up-and-down year this season in Montreal. Prior to the season beginning, he was waived by the Canadiens and would go unclaimed […]

Read More