What is the Jim Gregory Award?

Photo: NHL

The Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award: Recognizing Excellence in NHL Management

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice hockey league that boasts some of the world’s most talented athletes. Behind the scenes, a team of executives and managers work tirelessly to ensure that their teams are competitive and successful. The Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award is a prestigious honor that recognizes the outstanding achievements of these individuals.

Named after Jim Gregory, a respected NHL executive who served as general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs, the award was first presented in 2010. Gregory’s contributions to the NHL were numerous, and he was instrumental in the league’s expansion in the 1960s and ’70s. The award is a fitting tribute to his legacy and recognizes the exceptional achievements of today’s general managers.

The Jim Gregory Award is presented annually to the general manager who is deemed to have performed best in their role during the regular season. The winner is chosen by a panel of NHL executives, print, and broadcast media members at the end of the regular season. The award recognizes the individual who has made significant contributions to their team’s success, whether it be through roster management, strategic planning, or other factors.

The award has become a highly coveted honor among NHL general managers, and winning it is seen as a significant achievement. Past winners have included some of the most respected names in the industry, such as Jim Nill, Stan Bowman, and David Poile. These individuals have consistently demonstrated excellence in their roles, and their achievements have been recognized by their peers and the wider hockey community.

The Jim Gregory Award is not just a recognition of individual achievement but also a celebration of the hard work and dedication of an entire organization. A successful team requires a strong leader at the helm, but it also requires a talented supporting cast. The award recognizes the efforts of coaches, scouts, and other executives who work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that their team is competitive.

In conclusion, the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award is a testament to the importance of effective management in the NHL. It recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals who have dedicated their careers to building successful teams and organizations. Winning the award is a significant honor and one that reflects not just the talent and dedication of the individual but also the efforts of an entire organization. As such, the Jim Gregory Award is a symbol of excellence in NHL management and a fitting tribute to Jim Gregory’s legacy.

  • 2010-11: Mike Gillis, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2011-12: Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues
  • 2012-13: Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2013-14: Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2014-15: Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2015-16: Jim Nill, Dallas Stars
  • 2016-17: David Poile, Nashville Predators
  • 2017-18: George McPhee, Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2018-19: Don Sweeney, Boston Bruins
  • 2019-20: Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders
  • 2020-21: Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders
  • 2021-22: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche

Note that the 2012-13 season was shortened due to a lockout, and the award was still presented based on regular season performance.

Stanley Cup Aspirations Cue’ the Duck Boats Pod

The boys are back after a long break but have plenty to talk about as the playoffs are in full swing. We go series by series, looking at how teams have fared so far and who will come out on top. Thanks for listening! Please rate and review our show on your favorite listening platform. Check out our partner's website at www.insidetherink.com for all your latest hockey news.
  1. Stanley Cup Aspirations
  2. The Final Countdown
  3. Here Come the Playoffs
  4. Home Stretch
  5. Kevy Cooks

Connor Green

Managing Editor | Inside the Rink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Los Angeles Kings Trade Pierre-Luc Dubois to Washington Capitals For Darcy Kuemper

Remember when the Los Angeles Kings were eliminated from the Stanley Cup Playoffs, and rumors were swirling about the possibility of the team buying out struggling forward Pierre-Luc Dubois? Kings GM Rob Blake addressed these rumors and said he had no plans to buy out Dubois. Blake was right about not pursuing a buyout, as […]

Read More
Barclay Goodrow playing for the San Jose Sharks.

BREAKING: Barclay Goodrow is Returning to the Bay

It was announced yesterday that Barclay Goodrow, 31, was placed on waivers by the New York Rangers in an effort to clear his salary. Today, after a trade to acquire Ty Dellandrea from the Dallas Stars, the San Jose Sharks claimed Goodrow.  The undrafted, two-time Stanley Cup Champion started his career in the Bay after […]

Read More

San Jose Sharks Acquire Ty Dellandrea from the Dallas Stars

The San Jose Sharks have traded for Dallas Stars forward Ty Dellandrea in exchange for a 2025 fourth-round selection (originally held by Winnipeg), according to the team announcement today. Dellandrea, 23, was selected by the Dallas Stars with the 13th overall pick in the 2018 NHL Draft. The six-foot-two, 190-pound forward appeared in 42 games […]

Read More