What is the Selke Trophy?

Photo: NHL

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is an annual award presented to the National Hockey League’s (NHL) top defensive forward. The trophy is named after Frank J. Selke, a former executive with the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs. Selke was known for his contributions to the development of modern hockey, particularly in the area of player personnel and scouting.

The Selke Trophy has been awarded annually since the 1977-78 NHL season. It is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA), a group of journalists who cover the NHL on a regular basis. The winner of the Selke Trophy is chosen based on a variety of criteria, including defensive play, penalty killing, and faceoff proficiency. In addition, the award recognizes a player’s contributions to their team’s success, both on and off the ice.

Over the years, many of the NHL’s most notable forwards have won the Selke Trophy. Steve Yzerman, a Hall of Famer who played for the Detroit Red Wings, won the award three times during his career. Yzerman was known for his exceptional two-way play, which made him a valuable asset to his team in all situations. Another notable winner of the Selke Trophy is Patrice Bergeron, who has won the award four times while playing for the Boston Bruins. Bergeron is widely regarded as one of the best defensive forwards of his generation, and his consistent excellence in both ends of the ice has made him a perennial contender for the Selke Trophy.

Winning the Selke Trophy is a significant accomplishment for any NHL player. It is an acknowledgment of the player’s exceptional skills and contributions to their team’s success. While offensive production is often the focus of attention in professional hockey, strong defensive play is essential to a team’s overall success. The Selke Trophy recognizes this fact and celebrates the players who excel in this area.

In conclusion, the Frank J. Selke Trophy is one of the NHL’s most prestigious awards. It recognizes the top defensive forward in the league and celebrates the often-overlooked contributions of players who excel in this area. Winning the Selke Trophy is a significant achievement and a testament to a player’s skill, hard work, and dedication to the sport of hockey.

  • 2022 – Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
  • 2021 – Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
  • 2020 – Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 2019 – Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues
  • 2018 – Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2017 – Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2016 – Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2015 – Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2014 – Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2013 – Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2012 – Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 2011 – Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010 – Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2009 – Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2008 – Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2007 – Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2006 – Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2004 – Kris Draper, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2003 – Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 2002 – Michael Peca, New York Islanders
  • 2001 – John Madden, New Jersey Devils
  • 2000 – Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1999 – Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 1998 – Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars
  • 1997 – Michael Peca, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1996 – Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1995 – Ron Francis, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1994 – Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1993 – Doug Gilmour, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 1992 – Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1991 – Dirk Graham, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1990 – Rick Meagher, St. Louis Blues
  • 1989 – Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1988 – Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1987 – Dave Poulin, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1986 – Troy Murray, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1985 – Craig Ramsay, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1984 – Doug Jarvis, Washington Capitals
  • 1983 – Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1982 – Steve Kasper, Boston Bruins
  • 1981 – Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1980 – Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1979 – Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1978 – Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1977 – Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens

Stanley Cup Aspirations Cue’ the Duck Boats Pod

The boys are back after a long break but have plenty to talk about as the playoffs are in full swing. We go series by series, looking at how teams have fared so far and who will come out on top. Thanks for listening! Please rate and review our show on your favorite listening platform. Check out our partner's website at for all your latest hockey news.
  1. Stanley Cup Aspirations
  2. The Final Countdown
  3. Here Come the Playoffs
  4. Home Stretch
  5. Kevy Cooks

Connor Green

Managing Editor & Writer for Inside the Rink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Blues’ Rivalry With Stars Goes Way Back

As the title says, the St. Louis Blues’ rivalry with the Dallas Stars goes way back. But what exactly do you need to know about the Blues-Stars rivalry, especially if you’re a new fan of either team? Read on to find out more about the rivalry! First things first, St. Louis is arguably Dallas’ biggest […]

Read More
Winnipeg Jets Starter Connor Hellebuyck Make's Glove Save in Warm-up

Should the Penguins Trade for Jets Connor Hellebuyck?

The Pittsburgh Penguins goaltending position is certainly the team’s question of the offseason. With current starting goaltender Tristan Jarry set to hit unrestricted free agency this July, and no blue-chip prospects ready to take the reins just yet. When thinking about who the Pittsburgh Penguins 2023-24 starting goaltender will be, it can lead to some […]

Read More
Etienne Morin skating for the Moncton Wildcats of the QMJHL

2023 NHL Draft Prospect Profile: Etienne Morin

The Scouting Report: Etienne Morin from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Quebec, Canada, born on March 9th, 2005, is a top defensive prospect in the 2023 NHL entry draft. No matter the situation, you can count on Etienne Morin to do whatever is put on him for defensive responsibilities. Standing 6’0″ and 183 pounds, Morin shows a promising future […]

Read More