What is the Ted Lindsay Award?

Photo: NHL

The Ted Lindsay Award is an annual award given to the “most outstanding player” in the National Hockey League (NHL) as voted by the members of the NHL Players’ Association (NHLPA). The award was first presented in 1971, and it is named after Ted Lindsay, a former professional hockey player who was known for his skill and tenacity on the ice.

Prior to being renamed in 2010 to honor Lindsay, the award was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award. It was renamed to honor Lindsay in recognition of his contributions to the game of hockey, including his advocacy for the rights of players and his efforts to establish the NHL Players’ Association.

The Ted Lindsay Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the NHL, and it is often considered one of the “big three” awards along with the Hart Memorial Trophy (given to the league’s most valuable player) and the Art Ross Trophy (given to the league’s leading scorer).

  • 1971: Phil Esposito
  • 1972: Jean Ratelle
  • 1973: Phil Esposito
  • 1974: Bobby Clarke
  • 1975: Bobby Orr
  • 1976: Guy Lafleur
  • 1977: Guy Lafleur
  • 1978: Guy Lafleur
  • 1979: Marcel Dionne
  • 1980: Marcel Dionne
  • 1981: Mike Liut
  • 1982: Wayne Gretzky
  • 1983: Wayne Gretzky
  • 1984: Wayne Gretzky
  • 1985: Wayne Gretzky
  • 1986: Mario Lemieux
  • 1987: Wayne Gretzky
  • 1988: Mario Lemieux
  • 1989: Steve Yzerman
  • 1990: Mark Messier
  • 1991: Brett Hull
  • 1992: Mark Messier
  • 1993: Mario Lemieux
  • 1994: Sergei Fedorov
  • 1995: Eric Lindros
  • 1996: Mario Lemieux
  • 1997: Dominik Hasek
  • 1998: Dominik Hasek
  • 1999: Jaromir Jagr
  • 2000: Jaromir Jagr
  • 2001: Joe Sakic
  • 2002: Jarome Iginla
  • 2003: Markus Naslund
  • 2004: Martin St. Louis
  • 2005: Award not presented (due to NHL lockout)
  • 2006: Jaromir Jagr
  • 2007: Sidney Crosby
  • 2008: Alexander Ovechkin
  • 2009: Alexander Ovechkin
  • 2010: Alexander Ovechkin
  • 2011: Daniel Sedin
  • 2012: Evgeni Malkin
  • 2013: Sidney Crosby
  • 2014: Sidney Crosby
  • 2015: Carey Price
  • 2016: Patrick Kane
  • 2017: Connor McDavid
  • 2018: Connor McDavid
  • 2019: Nikita Kucherov
  • 2020: Leon Draisaitl
  • 2021: Connor McDavid
  • 2022: Connor McDavid

Note that the award was renamed the Ted Lindsay Award in 2010.

Stanley Cup Aspirations Cue’ the Duck Boats Pod

The boys are back after a long break but have plenty to talk about as the playoffs are in full swing. We go series by series, looking at how teams have fared so far and who will come out on top. Thanks for listening! Please rate and review our show on your favorite listening platform. Check out our partner's website at www.insidetherink.com for all your latest hockey news.
  1. Stanley Cup Aspirations
  2. The Final Countdown
  3. Here Come the Playoffs
  4. Home Stretch
  5. Kevy Cooks

Connor Green

Managing Editor | Inside the Rink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2024 NHL Draft Prospect Profile: Aron Kivharju

The Scouting Report: Even though Aron Kiviharju grew up in Finland, he was born in Esbjerg, Denmark. He has gained popularity, especially since he was recognized for his skills at just 11 years old. In the 2021-22 season, he played four games with the TPS U18 team before moving up to the U20 level. It […]

Read More

2024 NHL Draft Prospect Profile: Ryder Ritchie

The Scouting Report Ryder Ritchie, from Alberta, Canada, was elected as the 14th overall pick in the 2021 WHL draft and has quickly risen to become one of the premier scorers for the Prince Albert Raiders. Following his recognition as the OHL Rookie of the Year for the Raiders in a previous season, he started […]

Read More

ECHL: Tulsa Oilers 2023-24 Season Recap

The Tulsa Oilers’ bittersweet season ended with a 2-1 loss to the Kansas City Mavericks on April 22nd. Bitter because the Oilers were swept in the first round of the playoffs by the Brabham Cup-winning Mavericks, the Brabham Cup is awarded to the team with the most points in the regular season. Sweet because the […]

Read More