Brief History of the Presidents Trophy

Photo: NHL

The President’s Trophy is an award presented annually by the National Hockey League (NHL) to the team that finishes the regular season with the best overall record. It was first awarded in the 1985-86 season, and since then, it has become one of the most prestigious awards in the NHL.

The trophy is named after the President of the NHL at the time of its inception, John A. Ziegler Jr. The trophy was introduced to reward the team that had the best regular-season performance and to acknowledge their consistency throughout the season.

The President’s Trophy is awarded based on a point system, with two points awarded for a win and one point for an overtime or shootout loss. The team with the most points at the end of the regular season is awarded the trophy.

The winning team is also given a home-ice advantage throughout the playoffs. This means that if the team progresses to the Stanley Cup Finals, they will have the advantage of playing the majority of their games at home, which can be a significant factor in a team’s success.

Over the years, many teams have won the President’s Trophy, and some have gone on to win the Stanley Cup. However, winning the President’s Trophy is not a guarantee of success in the playoffs. In fact, only nine teams have gone on to win the Stanley Cup after winning the President’s Trophy. The most recent team to do so was the Washington Capitals in the 2017-2018 season.

The President’s Trophy has become an important part of the NHL’s regular season, and winning it is considered a significant accomplishment. Teams that win the trophy are often seen as the best team in the league, and their players are recognized for their outstanding performances throughout the season.

However, winning the President’s Trophy can also be a double-edged sword. Some teams have found that winning the trophy can lead to complacency and a lack of focus in the playoffs. Other teams have also found that the pressure of being the top team can be overwhelming, and they may struggle to perform under that pressure.

Despite these challenges, the President’s Trophy remains a highly coveted award in the NHL, and winning it is seen as a significant achievement. It is a testament to a team’s consistency, skill, and determination throughout the regular season, and it is an honor that is highly respected by players, coaches, and fans alike.

  • 1985-86: Edmonton Oilers
  • 1986-87: Edmonton Oilers
  • 1987-88: Calgary Flames
  • 1988-89: Calgary Flames
  • 1989-90: Boston Bruins
  • 1990-91: Chicago Blackhawks
  • 1991-92: New York Rangers
  • 1992-93: Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1993-94: New York Rangers
  • 1994-95: Detroit Red Wings
  • 1995-96: Detroit Red Wings
  • 1996-97: Colorado Avalanche
  • 1997-98: Dallas Stars
  • 1998-99: Dallas Stars
  • 1999-2000: St. Louis Blues
  • 2000-01: Colorado Avalanche
  • 2001-02: Detroit Red Wings
  • 2002-03: Ottawa Senators
  • 2003-04: Detroit Red Wings
  • 2004-05: Season canceled due to lockout
  • 2005-06: Detroit Red Wings
  • 2006-07: Buffalo Sabres
  • 2007-08: Detroit Red Wings
  • 2008-09: San Jose Sharks
  • 2009-10: Washington Capitals
  • 2010-11: Vancouver Canucks
  • 2011-12: Vancouver Canucks
  • 2012-13: Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2013-14: Boston Bruins
  • 2014-15: New York Rangers
  • 2015-16: Washington Capitals
  • 2016-17: Washington Capitals
  • 2017-18: Nashville Predators
  • 2018-19: Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2019-20: Boston Bruins (season shortened due to COVID-19 pandemic)
  • 2020-21: Colorado Avalanche (season shortened due to COVID-19 pandemic)
  • 2021-22: Florida Panthers

Stanley Cup Aspirations Cue’ the Duck Boats Pod

The boys are back after a long break but have plenty to talk about as the playoffs are in full swing. We go series by series, looking at how teams have fared so far and who will come out on top. Thanks for listening! Please rate and review our show on your favorite listening platform. Check out our partner's website at for all your latest hockey news.
  1. Stanley Cup Aspirations
  2. The Final Countdown
  3. Here Come the Playoffs
  4. Home Stretch
  5. Kevy Cooks

Connor Green

Managing Editor | Inside the Rink

One thought on “Brief History of the Presidents Trophy”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ville Heinola Inks Two-Year Contract Extension in Winnipeg

Another restricted free agent (RFA) is off the board for the Winnipeg Jets, this time it’s Ville Heinola who signed a two-year contract extension carrying an average annual value (AAV) of $800,000. The contract will expire at the end of the 2025-26 season and Heinola will remain an RFA with arbitration rights. The contract will […]

Read More

An Email Interview with Florida Everblades Broadcaster Jake Maurice

When you grow up in a family that has a member who is involved with hockey or loves the game of hockey, there is always a good chance that you will get involved with the game in some way as well. One such person is Florida Everblades broadcaster Jake Maurice. Jake’s father is Florida Panthers’ […]

Read More

Opinion: Why Nebraska Is An Untapped Expansion Market

With the Arizona Coyotes franchise moving to Utah, plenty of discussions have been sparked about where NHL teams should be located. That coupled with what was a surprise for me personally, NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman stating during the All-Star break that Omaha, Nebraska, had expressed interest in getting an expansion team. That announcement has made […]

Read More